Perspectives and Perceptions

Today, dear friends, I am in Edinburgh, I am here on a bit of a break, some respite from the chaos of my life, I think most people could call their lives this so I am not claiming that mine is more or less so than others, though it was, as I was walking through the striking National Museum of Scotland on Prince Street Gardens that I was struck by the beauty and creativity around me, then, I stepped in front of the world-famous Monarch of the Glen, which honestly captivated me.

Here is a portrait that is rather stirring for some, poignant for others and powerful without doubt, but why, is it the skill and deftness of the creator in forging such a piece, is it the emotional impact it leaves on the observer, this is where I may cause some to argue but, I feel it is not one sole issue or point that causes this painting to have such an effect on the people that view it, art is a broad medium, what some people prefer others will deride, what one person reveres, another…well you get the point.

This idea of perception, in regard to Art, got me to thinking about my own life, how an outsider might perceive me, this might sound selfish but I hope that I am not alone in this consideration, to help illustrate my point, I should say that I am a recent (August last year) University Graduate but, I will bet, any who pass me now, when I am dressed in my work uniform, would have no clue, no idea that I am the proud and encouraged recipient of a Bachelor’s Degree with Honours, our lives are not like books, you cannot simply understand a person by reading them as they appear, yet that sometimes doesn’t stop the less-observant of us out there, to simply peruse and pre-judge.

What does that say about us, today, when I was at Calton Hill, I couldn’t count the number of people that looked at me as if I didn’t belong, a man revisiting his hometown, his birthplace, is made to feel unwelcome, this was especially true when I walked through the new Saint James’ Quarter, passing Harvey Nicholls and even inside the National Museum, I felt initial moments of anger, disbelief and then pity, I pitied the people that judge me, life is far too short to be wasting it on viewing others in certain lights, judging them on the merit of your own perspective or perception.

This brings me back to the portrait of the Monarch of the Glen, when we view artwork, do we not study it, analyse it, yet, it remains, whatever the judgement of the individual, the Monarch of the Glen and other striking artworks inside that complex remain, for there is another side, from the artist’s perspective.

I prefer to think that, in some small way, however many lives we touch, however many people we meet, we leave something behind, like the artist Edwin Landseer (Sir Edwin), has done with the Monarch, though I do not think that we need to make something as grand and as imposing as the Monarch to leave our imprint on the world, rather, we could make just s large an impact on a person’s life by simply being who we are, an infinitely small time on the planet is afforded to each of us, which is why I feel it is best not to waste this existence harshly, unfairly or negatively affecting, judging or in anyway hurting others, rather, like the painting shall do for future generations, we should simply exist to live our lives, perhaps leaving a larger and more beneficial change or impact when we leave than when we arrived.

I know that there will be people out there reading this thinking I am being somewhat harsh in my perception of the world around me, but I accept that, it is a person’s right to live their life their way, as long as it doesn’t harm themselves or others, to think their way, with the same condition attached, in short, life is not meant to be spent censuring and condemning, it is not meant to be spent restricting or limiting others, forcing opinions or views on others, which is why I say, when you are done reading this, please choose to ignore, contemplate or ponder, do not think me some wise philosopher, or some opinionated smartarse, I simply have a blog, a chance to describe the world from my insignificant view and that is what I have done, please do not waste time or effort on censuring me for this, move on and live your life.

With that, until next time dear friends, I shall simply leave you with the portrait at the heart of this rambling post, the Monarch of the Glen, painted in eighteen fifty one by Sir Edwin Landseer.

This entry was posted in Competitions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment